July 17, 2019

Flower Mound Presbyterian Church

02 June 1968



Hon. Philip Livingston Chapter, Fort Worth, TX


Marker No. 1927

A Texas Historical Marker sponsored by Honorable Philip Livingston Chapter of Fort Worth was dedicated at Denton County’s historic Flower Mound Presbyterian Church about five miles southwest of Lewisville on June 2, 1968. The church was established in 1854 by the Rev. Matthew B. Donald, who is buried in the church cemetery. Located in the community known in early days as Long’s Prairie, the church was named for the profusion of flowers which appeared in the area each spring and fall. The large tablet placed beside the front steps of the church notes that Flower Mound was the first Presbyterian Church in Denton County, and it is thought to be the county’s oldest church of any denomination holding services continuously from its organization to the present day.

The existing frame structure was built in 1901 and is the third building occupied by the church. The first chapel was of logs and was built in 1857-1858. Prior to its construction, worship services had been held in members’ homes. Sometime later a frame building replaced the original log church.

The dedication service was held in connection with the annual homecoming observance of the church, then completing 114 years of service. Mrs. Martin D. Wolfe, Mrs. W. I. Fleetwood, and Mrs. Richard N. Grammer took part in the ceremony, and the pastor of Flower Mound Presbyterian Church accepted the marker for his congregation. Miss Marion Day Mullins, assisted by Mrs. Alva B. Harmonson, had been instrumental in securing approval to mark the historic site. The marker was placed during the term of Mrs. Charles R. Perkins of Longview as State Regent.

Flower Mound Presbyterian Church